Comfort Reading, it’s like comfort food, but better

As a teen librarian, it is part of my job to read a lot of teen fiction so that I know what I’m talking about when you come in and ask for a recommendation.  And honestly, that is one of the best parts of my job; there are so many great novels out there and more coming out every month. I try my best to keep on top of things, but even I can’t read them all!

As it happens though, one of the drawbacks of always having new books to read is that you rarely get the chance to re-read old favorites. I think that every reader has their own version of comfort reading, those books and stories that you revisit time and time again and they never fail to draw you and keep you entertained. One of my personal favorite comfort reads is the Harry Potter series. I will sit down and re-read the entire series without a second thought. When the books were still coming out, and later the movies, I would read the entire series up until the point of the new book or movie every time. I bet I’ve read The Sorcerer’s Stone ten times (I had to go out and buy another copy), and some of my other books are looking weary as well.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Last night, as I was finishing up the latest novel by Gail Carriger, Etiquette and Espionage (a great new steampunk read), I realized that it was about time for some comfort reading. So many of the new books I have read recently have been wonderful and I can’t wait to tell others about them, but sometimes you just need the reading equivalent of mac and cheese. So I decided that I would  set some of my to-reads aside for a while and hang out with Harry, Ron, and Hermione for a bit. Today, I received an email that my digital download was ready. I didn’t remember requesting an ebook? When I went to the website, I discovered that it was the audio for the first Harry Potter book that I had requested months ago and promptly forgotten about. I think it is a sign.

What are your comfort books, your go to re-reads?

One Response to Comfort Reading, it’s like comfort food, but better

  1. Shari Green says:

    Harry Potter is my comfort reading, too. Wish I had time to re-read other things as well, but HP seems to be just about the only thing I’m willing to set aside my giant TBR pile for. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers