My Prologue

So, I’ve been debating for a very long time if I should publish my story on the internet. In case you didn’t know, this unnamed story of mine is one that I’ve been working on for about four years now (off and on. I think I started sometime in the fifth grade. I have a terrible memory.)  There are a lot of websites that I found that will publish your stories for you on the internet. While I think that it is a good idea, I find it demeaning. I don’t want my story to be out there with millions of other stories, just another grouping of text in an ocean of words. That’s why I want it to be published. Okay, maybe that’s redundant. There are also millions of books out there. But unlike the stories on the internet (which anyone can post), they’ve been accepted into the world by a publisher. That’s what I want, more than anything. But I also want people’s opinions. I want to know before I try to get it published that maybe someone will like it. I’ve already asked my friends to read it, and I have one friend who’s also writing a story, and she gives me excellent feedback. But unlike my friends, everyone else isn’t obliged to tell me that they like it. The rest of the world (well, everyone in this blog) can pretty much be as blunt as they’d like, and there’s nothing I can do about it (unless it violates the rules. That’s different.). And I think I’m ready for the blunt opinion of the internet. Before I post my prologue, however, I want to set something straight. Please, please, please don’t copy my writings. I really don’t think anyone here will, but just in case. This is my life work (okay, my almost-four-year-work. I exaggerate.) and I really would not appreciate copycats. Thank you. And without further ado…

The twin princesses slept soundly in their cribs.  Two guards stood at the door to the bedroom, and two more by the window in the back. A small two-year old boy with blue eyes as large and deep as oceans tiptoed up to the guards in the front, hoping he would be able to sneak in the door.  He had no such luck.  The taller of the two guards held out his large hand in front of the child’s face.

“No entry.” He stated in a rumbling voice. The boy seemed to be slightly deterred, but he pressed on with his incentive.

“Sir, I just wanted to see the baby princesses. I promise, I won’t hurt them.” The boy tried to sound as official as the guard, but his voice was small and squeaky.  The shorter guard laughed, turning to the guard who had denied the boy entry.

“I don’t think he’s much of a threat, what’s the harm?”  He tousled the little boy’s dark hair.  The tall guard’s face softened a bit, and he pushed the door open a crack so the boy could walk in. He hesitated only for a moment, but then entered the bedroom.

The boy gazed at the baby in the crib, his large eyes opening even wider with fascination.  She’s just like a little porcelain doll. The baby girl’s features were pale and fragile: she had a tiny nose, full lips and thick eyelashes.  The boy reached through the white wooden bars and softly stroked her cheek. The baby slowly opened her eyes.  He pulled his hand back, but she snatched it, studying his fingers with her amber eyes.  She then lifted her eyes to meet his, as if evaluating the boy if he was worthy to hold her hand.  The princess seemed to like what she saw.  Her newborn lips curved up into a tiny smile.  The boy smiled back, his heart warm.

Suddenly lightning flashed, and thunder struck as the two guards in front of the window fell onto the ground.  The other guards fell as well, and the boy released the baby’s hand and sped over to the short guard whom he had just spoke with.  He shook the guard’s shoulders, and screamed for him to get up, but his attempts were futile.  They were all out cold. 

A chilling wind blew on the boy’s back. He turned around, and the window was open where it hadn’t been before.  Someone’s coming for the princess. He became very nervous very fast.  A figure appeared in the window, wearing a dark cloak.  The boy ran back to the baby’s crib, holding his hands protectively in front of the white wood of the bars.

“I’ll protect you, porcelain baby.” He whispered. The figure slid smoothly to the crib, cackling softly. He turned off both of the baby monitors.

“Well, hello there. I see the queen has hired a two-year-old boy to protect the newborn princess. Sorcerer as you are, do you really think that you can defeat me, boy?”  The boy was speechless with fright. He gulped.  The tall figure moved down to eye-level with the boy and glared at him.  The figure had yellow snake-like eyes that made him shiver all over. He began to whisper something sinister in an ancient language. The boy’s heart stopped suddenly, and his blue pupils began to turn black. He began to feel an odd sensation all over his body, as if water was flowing under his skin.  His balled-up fists were now covered with water that cooled quickly and turned to ice.  The child punched the figure hard, causing the man to stagger backwards.  He growled lowly and slapped the boy in the face, sending a shock through the child’s body.  The boy was flung into a nightstand, knocking over a music box. He lay on the floor, unmoving.  The baby princess cried out.  The figure angrily snatched the princess out of her crib.  The porcelain baby cried out louder, but the figure covered her mouth with his hand.  Her sister woke to the second scream, and began to cry, knowing that something horrible was happening.  Footsteps approached down the hall, but when they came to the bedroom, they were too late. The mother found the boy lying on the ground, twitching with aftershock. He was clutching something in his fist, so tightly the veins were popping out. An old man gently unwrapped his fingers to find that in the boy’s hand was a shining amber amulet.

if you have any questions or comments, or if you don’t understand something, please comment. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

