Animazement In Review – ’08 and ’09

So with Comic Con so recently gone by (if you don’t know what Comic Con is……) I decided I should probably mention Animazement, which is North Caroline’s smaller but still epic Anime Convention. Well, clearly Comic Con isn’t all about the anime, but it’s still got a good portion devoted! But anyway, back to Animazement…
Can I just state this now? I look forward the entire year to that thing. Why? BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING. It was more fun than the state fair with the same friends that went to AZ. It was more fun than going out of the country. Is it because I am a total anime dork? Probably. But it doesn’t make it any less fun. Even my non-anime-devoted friends went and they liked it. The people there were so nice, and absolutely rocked. This passing AZ (’09) was my second ever Animazement.
So let’s go back a little in time. Whenever AZ ’08 was, I was pretty lonely at AZ because…well, I was planning to go with two friends and I couldn’t find them. Yes, I did find them eventually though, and we had a blast. Being obsessed with Fullmetal Alchemist at the time, I went and saw the panel and got autographs from the ever amazing American Seiyuus. (VIC MIGNOGNA WAS THERE WITH CAITLIN GLASS AND KYLE HEBERT AND -takes deep breath- KARA EDWARDS) But because of bad planning…:( I only got to go Sunday cause it was cheap. Of course. Thus, only the winding down stuff. I walked through Artist’s Alley, but I didn’t look at anything. I went into the Dealer’s Room- and anyone who knew me at AZ ’09 will never believe this- but I didn’t buy anything.
So I didn’t expect anything new from this AZ.
I was so, so wrong. For one, I went on Friday and Saturday. Saturday is the biggest day of AZ because…because…it just is. More people, more excitement, omg. I got picked up from school with my friends Yang and Sunny, and we met up with our friends after a registration line. (I got my 3-day pass! :D) and we met up with Jackie, who I’d never met before in person even though she goes to kungfu with Kevin and I. She’s a freaking amazing artist (iyagi.deviantart.com if you don’t believe me) and so is Sunny (thecamcafe.deviantart.com … my friends are ridiculously talented >>) so they set up a booth with someone who was an Axel cosplayer in Artist’s Alley…so it ended up becoming our hangout. XD If you ever got lost, head to Jackie’s booth! SOMEONE will end up there eventually. And even though I didn’t attend any events this year (no appeal…) it was still awesome. I went insane in the Dealer’s Room- I had no idea there was so much cool merchandise. And I actually had money to spend that time. I bought art. I found my best friend in the Dealer’s Room…now, check out photos and see JUST how improbable that is. XD
Oh yes. Friday was amazing.
THENTHEREWASSATURDAY. I ended up convincing a bunch of my kungfu friends to go with me to AZ that year: that being Mark, Timothy, Ed, and Kevin. (Haha, Kevin.) So we went, and ended up standing in line for like, a million hours. Now, they went and signed up for the Brawl tournament. Which was not smart. But there was much combing of Artist’s Alley to do (I loved the pins. I adored the pins.) and merchandise to get in the Dealer’s Room that day. (I WANTED A HAT SO BADLY!) And at the end of the day, we played Red Rover.
Let me say it plainly here: You. Do. Not. Mess. Around. In. Red. Rover. I can literally say it’s like a battle. People plan strategies. It sounds stupid and really, really pointless now, but wait until you see a line of people in cosplay duking it out and you may get it. A little. xD I remember hearing that one guy, between two of my friends, complain because they always, always go for the little asian girls. That being me and a couple of my friends. I nearly squeezed the arm off the lady next to me when they barelled towards me, but I’m proud to say I actually didn’t give. XD (To the woman in red next to the small asian girl with star earrings and the leaves in her hair, I am really, really sorry about that…)
I’m not even going to speak about what amazing, beautiful cosplays there were. They can speak for themself. I put a photo slideshow at the bottom with commentary, so just check that out if you’re interested.
And hey- go to AZ ’10! It’s their 13th Animazement and it’s going to be amazing. 😀 Say hi to me, if you see a small asian girl walking around in red chinese clothes- I’m going to be I-Pin from KHR with a bunch of friends. COSPLAY GROUP~! (Kevin WILL be Tsuna, Kevin WILL be Tsuna. xD_
Cheers!
Vanessa

So with Comic Con so recently gone by (if you don’t know what Comic Con is……) I decided I should probably mention Animazement, which is North Carolina’s smaller but still epic Anime Convention. Well, clearly Comic Con isn’t all about the anime, but it’s still got a good portion devoted! But anyway, back to Animazement…

Can I just state this now? I look forward the entire year to that thing. Why? BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING.It was more fun than the state fair with the same friends that went to AZ. It was more fun than going out of the country. Is it because I am a total anime dork and enjoy mingling with people who actually know what I mean when I shamelessly plug Code Geass? Is it because I love buying pointless stuff that isn’t really that pointless in retrospect? Is it because I like seeing other animetards face to face? Probably. But it doesn’t make it any less fun. Even my non-anime-devoted friends went and they liked it. The people there were so nice, and absolutely rocked. This passing AZ (’09) was my second ever Animazement.

So let’s go back a little in time. Whenever AZ ’08 was, I was pretty lonely at AZ because…well, I was planning to go with two friends and I couldn’t find them. Yes, I did find them eventually though, and we had a blast. Being obsessed with Fullmetal Alchemist at the time, I went and saw the panel and got autographs from the ever amazing American Seiyuus. (VIC MIGNOGNA WAS THERE WITH CAITLIN GLASS AND KYLE HEBERT AND -takes deep breath- KARA EDWARDS) But because of bad planning… : ( I only got to go Sunday cause it was cheap. Of course. Thus, only the winding down stuff. I walked through Artist’s Alley, but I didn’t look at anything. I went into the Dealer’s Room- and anyone who knew me at AZ ’09 will never believe this- but I didn’t buy anything.

So I didn’t expect anything new from this AZ.

I was so, so wrong. For one, I went on Friday and Saturday. Saturday is the biggest day of AZ because…because…it just is. More people, more excitement, omg. I got picked up from school with my friends Yang and Sunny, and we met up with our friends after a registration line. (I got my 3-day pass! : D) and we met up with Jackie, who I’d never met before in person even though she goes to kungfu with Kevin and I. She’s a freaking amazing artist (iyagi.deviantart.com if you don’t believe me) and so is Sunny (thecamcafe.deviantart.com … my friends are ridiculously talented >>) so they set up a booth with someone who was an Axel cosplayer in Artist’s Alley…so it ended up becoming our hangout. XD If you ever got lost, head to Jackie’s booth! SOMEONE will end up there eventually. And even though I didn’t attend any events this year (no appeal…) it was still awesome. I went insane in the Dealer’s Room- I had no idea there was so much cool merchandise. And I actually had money to spend that time. I bought art. I found my best friend in the Dealer’s Room…now, check out photos and see JUST how improbable that is. XD

Oh yes. Friday was amazing.

THENTHEREWASSATURDAY. I ended up convincing a bunch of my kungfu friends to go with me to AZ that year: that being Mark, Timothy, Ed, and Kevin. (Haha, Kevin.) So we went, and ended up standing in line for like, a million hours. Now, they went and signed up for the Brawl tournament. Which was not smart, because they pretty much stayed their the entire time, their loss. But there was much combing of Artist’s Alley to do (I loved the pins. I adored the pins.) and merchandise to get in the Dealer’s Room that day. (I WANTED A HAT SO BADLY!) We got to see the NOIZ concert, that had fanservice to the extreme. There were pedobears going around for hugs (or maybe just one, my friends Diana and Coco got chased up stairs by him), there was much lovely Caramelldansen going on, Hare Hare Yukai, people posing for pictures. Argh, it’s Animazement. And at the end of the day, we played Red Rover.

Let me say it plainly here: You. Do. Not. Mess. Around. In. Red. Rover. I can literally say it’s like a battle. People plan strategies. It sounds stupid and really, really pointless now, but wait until you see a line of people in cosplay duking it out and you may get it. A little. xD I remember hearing that one guy, between two of my friends, complained because they always, always go for the little asian girls. That being me and a couple of my friends. I nearly squeezed the arm off the lady next to me when they barelled towards me, but I’m proud to say I actually didn’t give. XD (To the woman in red next to the small asian girl with star earrings and the leaves in her hair, I am really, really sorry about that…)

I’m not even going to speak about what amazing, beautiful cosplays there were. They can speak for themself. I put a photo slideshow at the bottom with commentary, so just check that out if you’re interested.

And hey- go to AZ ’10! It’s their 13th Animazement and it’s going to be amazing. : D Say hi to me, if you see a small asian girl walking around in red chinese clothes- I’m going to be I-Pin from KHR with a bunch of friends. COSPLAY GROUP~! (Kevin WILL be Tsuna, Kevin WILL be Tsuna. xD) Details at animazement.com

Cheers!
Vanessa

2 Responses to Animazement In Review – ’08 and ’09

  1. Vanessa says:

    Just a note, Vic Mignogna dubbed the english voice of Edward Elric for Fullmetal Alchemist. Caitlin Glass did Winry Rockbell from FMA as well. Kyle Hebert voiced Kiba from Naruto and Vato Falman from Fullmetal, while Kara Edwards voiced several characters from Dragon Ball Z.

  2. Disney says:

    Just a note, Vic Mignogna dubbed the english voice of Edward Elric for Fullmetal Alchemist. Caitlin Glass did Winry Rockbell from FMA as well. Kyle Hebert voiced Kiba from Naruto and Vato Falman from Fullmetal, while Kara Edwards voiced several characters from Dragon Ball Z.; Just a note, Vic Mignogna dubbed the english voice of Edward Elric for Fullmetal Alchemist. Caitlin Glass did Winry Rockbell from FMA as well. Kyle Hebert voiced Kiba from Naruto and Vato Falman from Fullmetal, while Kara Edwards voiced several characters from Dragon Ball Z.;;

Leave a Reply

