Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

So I realize I haven’t posted anything in a while: I have been UBER busy with my first year of high school. Who knew that one actually had to study every night to get good grades? I also joined a lot of clubs, which keeps me even more packed then usual. In all of this, I am sad to say, that I completely forgot about this blog. And I apologize. So now I will review a book. Let’s see, the last book I read was Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins…

**WARNING: SPOILERS FOR BOTH BOOKS (Hunger Games and Catching Fire)

Being the sequel to the book Hunger Games, of course I expected a lot from Catching Fire. And all of my expectations were greatly exceeded!! This book had the perfect mix of romance, horror, and suspense. It’s the kind of book that keeps you at the edge of your seat–the kind of book that you read while you’re walking down the hall to your next class. And that’s exactly what I did. Actually, I seem to have developed this jedi-like talent for dodging people while still walking down the hall and paying attention to the story.

Catching Fire takes place in a desperate future world, where there are twelve districts ruled by one greedy, dicatator-like Capitol that controls their every way of life. To keep the districts in line and “remind them” why the Capitol rules, they hold the annual Hunger Games. Every district must provide two “tributes” ages 12-17 who will all be sent to an arena to fight to the death. Last Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mallark were sent to fight, and both won, thwarting the Capitol’s attempts to overpower them. Now President Snow, leader of the Capitol, is furious with Katniss and Peeta. And the districts are rebelling.

Catching Fire not only satisfies fans of the trilogy, but will leave a gaping cliffhanger that will leave them (and me ๐Ÿ™‚ ) begging for the sequel.

–Lindsay

To reserve this book, click on the picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Responses to Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

  1. Nicole says:

    This book was absolutely amazing. A lot of people are saying that it’s better then Hunger Games, which is intense because Hunger Games was flipping amazing!! I can’t wait to see the next book in this trilogy. I think I may be sad when it ends though =(

  2. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I liked the Hunger Games better because in this book there was a lot of build up and hardly any time spent in the games. Once you got there, it was amazing, but you can deal with all of your relationship issues while the games are going on. Let’s hope the next one sticks more to the action.

Leave a Reply

