Local Band- Stolen Youth

One of my favorite local bands in this area is a band called Stolen Youth. Stolen Youth’s leader, Grant Barnes, was super kind and answered all the questions I had had about the band. If you’ve heard of them, excellent. If you haven’t you should go check them out here.  They are also on Facebook.  If you like funky music, or alternative rock, this band is definitely something you should check out. The band originated in the summer of 2006 with Grant Barnes recruiting fellow music writer Alec Sturgis.  From there they found their drummer Mason Self from craigslist of all places! This was the original line up, but over the next few years it would change.

Just from listening to the music on their myspace, you can hear how Stolen Youth changed. In Gone and Gravity you feel more of an alternative music style. Then you get a female singer who really works with the music.  When you go down the list it gets funkier and funkier ending with New Groove, which is pretty funky. It’s a ten minute long instrumental piece that keeps you listening and tapping your foot the entire time.

At this time, Grant says that the band has settled on being classified as Hard Alternative Rock.

The current line up in the band is Grant Barnes as guitarist, Adrien Fiette on bass, and Ryan Masecar playing the drums. Grant stated that, “[he] couldn’t ask for more than the guys I get the privilege to work with.”

Currently Stolen Youth is working on relasing their second album, which I don’t think has a set date to be released.

My personal experience with Stolen Youth has been amazing. I’ve gone to their concerts and my mind has been blown. They command the stage with a large prescene and intense music. They know how to use the space given to them, and they keep the crowd going. They are an amazing local teen band in my opinion. Their music is different from others, they command a stage, and their lyrics aren’t sterotypical at all. I really do enjoy them a lot.

My favorite song by them on myspace has to be Gravity. The lyrics are pleasant enough, but it’s the music and the lyrics combined that really get me. I find myself frequently nodding my head along, or tapping my feet. It’s enchanting and I enjoy it immensely.

Hopefully you will check out this band and tell me what you think.

~Nicole

p.s any other local bands I should check out?

5 Responses to Local Band- Stolen Youth

  1. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I think it’s awesome that you are reviewing local bands, Nicole. Great idea. Local bands need the support of their hometown to gain a following.

    • Nicole says:

      Thanks! I hope to review more bands. I absolutely love local bands and I like supporting the arts in any way possible! I will definitely be telling the band about this!

  2. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    You should definitely send them a link to this on Facebook. They will be grateful for this promotion.

  3. Adrien Fiette says:

    Hey thanks a lot for the review, Grant told me to check this out as soon as he read it. You’re really too kind! As soon as we pump out this album I expect to see you at our next show.

Leave a Reply

