Avatar: Movie Review

Box office charts have shown Avatar’s success, placing it in the top three of all time. Of course, it better be successful, since it cost around $500 million to make. But is Avatar really as good as this makes it sound, or are soaring ticket prices and “cool effects” the only reason for its success? I don’t think so, but Avatar is the movie you love or hate. I happened to adore it, and I’ll tell you why.

The special effects were pretty awesome. I mean, light up moss?! Glow in the dark freckles! After watching Avatar, I spent days wishing I was blue, had a tail and a cool braid-thing to attach to my horse, and lived in Pandora.  The giant flying birds were spectacular, the night-world magical… it just all seemed very believable.

Now, some people have mentioned to me that the special effects didn’t impress them. I’m not sure if this is a result of not seeing it in IMAX 3d (totally worth it, more so than any other IMAX I’ve seen), or something else, but let me just say: $500 million? Let’s see you create something better. I thought the effects were enchanting.

The actors were selected very well. Neytiri’s voice and laugh had an addictingly wild “tribe” sound. Jake was a perfect mix of comedy at the beginning and power toward the end.  His opening scenes were well-executed emotionally, so the loss of his legs seemed very real. I liked Dr. Grace’s red hair and attitude parallel.

There are parts of the plot where I can see critic’s points: yes, there is a cliché love segment to the story. However, every single movie is based off of the general “love story” or “war story” or “betrayal story”, even back to Shakespeare. In my opinion, it is how well this story is executed, how well the ever-present cliché is hidden, that makes the movie good. In Avatar, it was unrecognizable to me until after much reflection. There was so much depth to the conflict (movie was long!), and so many different stories to tell. The movie experience was the best I’ve ever had.

2 Responses to Avatar: Movie Review

  1. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I did not see it in 3D or IMAX and I though the special effects were still amazing. It was the first time in awhile that I was truly scared of something on screen.

  2. 5 star says:

    good review.
    Some of us are not much interested with the movie.
    But at my side this movie is very interesting… in many side.

    thank you.

Leave a Reply

