Book Review: Bad Girls Don’t Die

I may be one of those wimps that gets completely freaked by horror movies, but I do love a good ghost story when I find one. And I found a really good one recently.

Alexis is really just an average highschooler, even with her parents’ failing marriage and her sister Kasey’s freakish doll obsession. But when Kasey starts acting weird—beyond normal weirdAlexis starts looking around, and noticing odd things. Soon the silly sibling tricks get dangerous, and Alexis is not sure what she should do. It’s not like Kasey would harm anyone, right?

Bad Girls Don’t Die is Katie Alender’s first novel. Full of addictive mystery by compelling characters, it grabs you right from the beginning and doesn’t let go. I stayed up laaate finishing this one. The plot is evenly paced until the runaway-horse climax.  Successfully creepy, yet dotted with moments of laughter and relatable emotions.

Scary enough for those that like things like possessed dolls, but light enough for those that like a little humor in between. Request this book from your nearest Wake County library. Here’s an awesome trailer, also!

6 Responses to Book Review: Bad Girls Don’t Die

  1. Hey! Thanks for the great review! I get freaked out by horror movies, too. In fact, I can’t even read scary books. I didn’t know BGDD was scary until my agent told me!

  2. Emily says:

    I would like to know, what is the plot, resolution, conflict, theme, and setting of your story, i would really want to know these questions ASAP and thank you so much for taking your time to read this message and to answer these questions for me.
    Thank you,
    Itzia

  3. Eric says:

    Wow. First of all I can’t stand reading. I have a low patience level and get distracted easy. I was given an assignment in my literature course in which I had to write a book report on any book I chose. I had no idea what to read, so I asked another student for recommendations and she said, “Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender” without hesitation. At first I had no intention of reading your story, but when facing the fact of losing several hundre assignment points I was pushed to read this book. I am a heavy procrastinator, so at the last minute I rushed to Barnes and Noble and bought a copy of this book. I get to my house and follow my daily routine, putting off the fact that I have to read. I sit down and and grab my xbox controller, look at your book, and pick it up. I read the first page and before you know I’m wondering what “Kasey” is planning against Alexis. To make a long story short, I love your story! Its fantastic and I personally wish more authors had the creativity and writing ability you do. I look forward to more stories by the great Miss Alender. I even have my girlfriend reading your book, and she is amazed. Thank you miss Alender for your great story. Have a nice day.

  4. Laura says:

    love this book!!

Leave a Reply

