Fantastic Mr. Fox: Movie Review

Fantastic Mr. Fox: Movie Review

Usually movies don’t live up to books. I rented Fantastic Mr. Fox with that expectation, thinking, even though it was nominated for the Oscars, it can’t be as good as the book, can it?

But from the first few minutes of the film, I was hooked. This is another animation film, but it’s a different style than the usual animations that I see. I’m not an animation expert, so I’m not really sure how to describe it, but I really like this style. It’s not the kind of animation that you see like in Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. The motions are a bit exaggerated and sometimes a bit jerky, and the pictures sometimes seem to be made out of paper. But I think this fit the story well.

George Clooney and Meryl Streep voice Mr. and Mrs. Fox. The whole movie, overall, was very intriguing. And I think it definitely lives up to the book. They didn’t really change the storyline (and I’m glad they didn’t), but they certainly added certain flairs of their own. There were some pretty random moments, like when a wolf suddenly appears (I’m not really sure what that’s supposed to mean, it didn’t make any sense to me, but perhaps if you watch it you’ll get it), but overall it flows very nicely. And it had a sort of a dry humor that makes you chuckle every once in a while. I thought that the movie would be very difficult to make, since the book is so short you can read it in 10-20 minutes, but they managed to extend it to…what, a little more than an hour? Okay, yep, it’s 87 minutes.

The only thing that really bothered me was when Mr. Fox was listing off the scientific names of the animals. A little heading came up with the scientific name. It wasn’t italicized, nor was the second word lowercase. It annoyed me greatly, but that’s only a minor thing.

5/5 VERY good movie for the whole family to enjoy. PG for some language, smoking, and action.

And as usual, a quote from the movie.

Mr. Fox: [sighs] Who am I, Kylie?
Kylie: Who how? What now?
Mr. Fox: Why a fox? Why not a horse, or a beetle, or a bald eagle? I’m saying this more as, like, existentialism, you know? Who am I? And how can a fox ever be happy without, you’ll forgive the expression, a chicken in its teeth?
Kylie: I don’t know what you’re talking about, but it sounds illegal.

Enjoy!
hils

2 Responses to Fantastic Mr. Fox: Movie Review

  1. […] the original post: Fantastic Mr. Fox: Movie Review « Flip the Switch : Teens aWake Posted in Movie Tags: book, even-though, fantastic, Movie, movie-review, movies-don, oscars, […]

  2. code geass says:

    I have to be honest, I had no expectations of Fantastic Mr. Fox. I had seen no previews or reviews and just went along to get the kids out of the house. I was, however, very pleasantly suprised. It is without doubt one of the finest animations I have seen in many a year.

Leave a Reply

