Movie Review: Letters to Juliet

Sophie (Amanda Seyfried) at the house of Juliet, picking up letters.

Letters to Juliet, a movie which just came out THIS Friday, May 16, is about an American girl who goes on a journey to reunite two lovers.
Sophie (Amanda Seyfried) is in Verona, Italy with her fiance, Victor, for a before-the-wedding honeymoon. It’s supposed to be romantic — except that Victor never spends time with her. Wandering around the town, she comes upon Juliet’s house. This is where the famous star-crossed lovers talked to each other. Now, people stick “letters to Juliet” in the cracks of the walls, hoping to get a reply. And they usually do — there are a group of women called the “secretaries of Juliet” who reply. However, Sophie finds a 50 year old letter that was never replied to, and decides to write a response back. Within the next week, she finds herself acquainted with Claire (Vanessa Redgrave) and her cynical grandson, Charlie (Christopher Egan). Now begins the quest for Claire’s fairytale come true, but can Sophie find her own true love as well?

I thought it was good. I liked Amanda Seyfried as Sophie. She’s a relatively new actress, especially to me.  I haven’t gotten to see any of the movies she’s acted in, but I think, after this movie, I’m going to be on the lookout for any other movies she comes out with. Christopher Egan was fabulous (though some parts were quite cheesy). I haven’t seen much of him either, but, once again, I’m be looking for new releases with him acting.

The plot line is a typical romance story. Girl neglected by guy, girl meets other guy, etc. (I don’t want to give it all away). F0r romance stories like these, it’s their approach to these familiar plot lines that matter. I thought they could have been a little more original; Romeo and Juliet is a little cliche, but I still enjoyed the movie.

But what was up with the whole kissing pictures at the beginning? That was a little odd.

Charlie (Christopher Egan) and Sophie (Amanda Seyfried) in the grass together.

Overall, very sweet, good date night movie. Not really a family movie. The sweetest part was at the end when my friend said, “Aww, look!” and pointed to an elderly couple in the back.

4/5 stars

-hils

**NOTE: Pictures do not belong to me. I got them from http://www.imdb.com.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Letters to Juliet

  1. serenaa8 says:

    awwwww this was a cute movie:) along with christopher egan 🙂

  2. Nicole :) says:

    I went back and watched it again…and I love old couples 🙂

Leave a Reply

