Movie Review: When In Rome

Movie Review: When In Rome

When In Rome, featuring Kristen Bell as Beth and Josh Duhamel as Nick.

Again, another one of those guess-the-plots romances, just like Letters to Juliet. And again, they’ve managed to put a twist on it. It was sweet, but if you get bored of the same boy meets girl type of thing, maybe this isn’t your type of movie.

All Beth cares about is her job. Maybe that’s why none of her relationships are working…? But when she goes to Rome to attend her sister’s wedding, she meets Nick. He’s different, and she feels attracted to him…but of course, he’s with another woman. She gets drunk and voluntarily takes coins from the Fountain of Love.
Suddenly, her life is off balance. There are four random guys (all eccentric, I must add) that follow her around, claiming that they love her. And Nick is constantly asking her out, claiming that he loves her too. How can Beth get rid of the unwanted admirers? And is Nick’s love real…or just a spell?

It’s supposed to be a comedy, and I laughed at some parts, but it wasn’t all like belly-slapping funny. I love Kristen Bell. I think she’s really cute and a great actor. Josh Buhamel was good in this movie, too.
The plot should have stopped…hm, I don’t know how to say this without giving the ending away, but it should have stopped at the first time. If you watched the movie, you know what I mean. The second time is just exactly the same thing except they’re in a different place and they’re going to get married the

Beth and Nick in the Fountain of Love ❤

second time (okay, spoiler, but you KNEW that was going to happen. It’s one of those predicable plots). Or maybe they could have cut out the first time and just made it the second time. You’ll get what I mean when you watch it.

I remember seeing the trailer and wanting to watch it. It wasn’t as GOOD as I would have liked it to be. I thought the idea was good and sound but…they could have done better with it. 3.5/5 😀 still love it, though. But what’s up with the ugly movie poster? I almost didn’t watch it until I realized that it was the movie that I had been dying to watch…

QUOTE!
Nick: I have a question… why do you keep giving me back my poker chips?
Beth: Because you deserve to have it back. You threw them into the fountain and wished for love, and I don’t want to keep it anymore!
Nick: [looking confused] No I didn’t…

**NOTE: Pictures do not belong to me. I got them from Google Images.

-hils

One Response to Movie Review: When In Rome

  1. I might just watch it for the scenery and of course light hearted romance. I read certain books for the same reason as watching these kinds of movies.

Leave a Reply

