Book Review: The Cardturner by Louis Sachar

Like many people my age, I read Holes when I was about 9 and absolutely loved it to pieces. The author, Louis Sachar, wrote Holes in 1998 and then kind of dropped off the map. He published a sequel to Holes a few years ago that wasn’t nearly as good or popular as the first one.  And then he publishes The Cardturner.

Among my friends I have a reputation for being, shall we say, frank, about my opinions, especially of books. So I want to assure you that I do in fact mean what I am about to say. I love love love love love this book. I love the plot, I love the characters, I love the writing, heck I even love the cover even though it has nothing to do with the plot and makes it look like the book is about a drunk homeless college student…….actually no, I hate the cover, but I still love the book.

Here is the description of the plot from the back cover(did I mention that I love the back cover? I do. I love how it describes the plot but doesn’t give away the plot):  The summer after junior year of high school looks bleak for Alton Richards. His girlfriend has dumped him to hook up with his best friend. He has no money and no job. His parents insist that he drive his great-uncle Lester to his bridge club four times a week and be his cardturner—whatever that means. Alton’s uncle is old, blind, very sick, and very rich. But Alton’s parents aren’t the only ones trying to worm their way into Lester Trapp’s good graces. They’re in competition with his longtime housekeeper, his alluring young nurse, and the crazy Castaneda family, who seem to have a mysterious influence over him. Alton soon finds himself intrigued by his uncle, by the game of bridge, and especially by the pretty and shy Toni Castaneda. As the summer goes on, he struggles to figure out what it all means, and ultimately to figure out the meaning of his own life.

The writing style (This is me again, hello all you poor, sad  people who have nothing better to do then read a library blog)  is both hilarious and strangely touching.  This book should be an example to all the young adult writers out there that books about boys can be just as good as books about girls.

If there is any justice in this world at all this book will sell millions of copies and win either a Newbery award or honor or a Printz award or honor. This is the best book I have read in a long long long time.

5 Responses to Book Review: The Cardturner by Louis Sachar

  1. happy says:

    I like the way you review this book, it makes sense.

  2. Alex says:

    Your right, this is the best book I have read.

  3. Grace says:

    Did the book ever say where they lived?

  4. duncan says:

    i love the book and hope theres going to be a sequel to the cardturner ….and no grace they don’t say where they live

  5. duncan says:

    my favourite caracter is alton ,but i didn’t understand why alton didn’t admet he was in love with toni

Leave a Reply

