Book Review: Dead-Tossed Waves

Dead-tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

Click here to see my review of The Forest of Hands and Teeth.

The Dead-tossed Waves is author Carrie Ryan’s companion novel to The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Having somewhat enjoyed FHT, I decided to jump into the “dead-tossed waves”, and decided they were just that—pretty dead.

Summary: When Gabry and her friends sneak across the barrier that protects their town from the Mudo, what was only fun and games turns into a horrible accident, and Gabry is the only one who is able to get away. The only one that anyone thinks is innocent.  Plagued with guilt, Gabry runs away to find and help Catcher, who was infected by the Mudo and left behind the night Gabry escaped.  She finds him, but she also finds Eli, a mysterious boy plagued with secrets who rescues her from a Mudo attack. Later, Gabry discovers her mother also has secrets, and things go downhill fast.

Review: As I said, the plot was pretty dead. At the beginning, it was fairly interesting, but there wasn’t a huge grab past the first chapter, when Gabry and her friends crossed the boundary.  The rest of the book, Gabry is either distraught or running away.  If the plot had been more of a roller coaster with high points as well as low points, perhaps with more emotional twists, the book may have been a better read. The “horror” of the Mudo was a little over-done, and more contrast there also would have hooked me more as a reader.  Nothing really seemed surprising when every page Mudo were getting their heads chopped off or Gabry was “almost caught.”

Gabry’s relationships with Catcher and Eli were aggravating. The whole “who do I really like—attractive boy or mysterious boy?” has never been a major plot grabber for me, and it carried on for a long, long time before Gabry made up her mind.

There was a well-placed twist, but the plot dragged so much that it was a huge relief, rather than a delightful surprise, that something interesting happened.

The characters were fairly likable; Eli was probably the deepest. Gabry was relatable, but not terribly original.

Overall, it was a very slow read. To be honest, I was disappointed, because I liked Forest of Hands and Teeth.  If you decide to pick it up and like the first 5 chapters, chances are, you don’t mind slow books and you may enjoy DTW. However, if you find them slow and boring, take a warning: it won’t get any better.

I’ve heard a 3rd book is coming out; I’m curious to see how that one is.  How did you all feel Dead-Tossed Waves compared to Forest of Hands and Teeth?

Click here to request this book.

2 Responses to Book Review: Dead-Tossed Waves

  1. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    Well, if nothing else, I like the book cover

  2. Jane says:

    I agree with your review completely! Even though I don’t normally read horror books, I really enjoyed The Forest of Hands and Teeth. So when I read The Dead-Tossed Waves I was really disappointed that I couldn’t get into the story. It was slow, the characters were hard to empathize with and I’m not sure a third book is a good idea. Maybe someone is just trying to jump on the “make a movie out of my teen novel” bandwagon?

Leave a Reply

