MOA: Mall of Asia

That’s right, MOA.  The Mall of Asia.  At one point the biggest mall in all of Asia, this  landmark is actually referred to by its acronym by the locals (moe-uh).  I’ve been in the Philippines over a month now, and I haven’t even dedicated a text on it yet.  Let’s begin, shall we?

Ok, first off, I’ve actually already been to MOA several times already.  However, this was just one of the convention centers, at the very end of the mall.  The mall itself actually extendeds from there quite a distance, and exploring it all seemed like such a daunting task that I always wanted to wait for another day to tackle it all in one go (procrastination..one of the many things I learned to do in high school).  Seeing as how I am leaving the Philippines very shortly, however, I think it’s about time for me to capitalize before it’s too late.

Above is the link to a panoramic view of the mall from the front, to give you an idea of it’s actual size.  Unfortunately the picture is much too wide to fit directly into this text. Notice the metal globe statue on the left; at night it lights up and becomes a giant, round, trivia-giving television screen.

A pile of rocks outside the mall. Bears a striking resemblance to a man...

Alright so, here’s a little run through of some feature of the mall that I saw during my first (official) visit.  There’s an enormous supermarket (referred to as a hyper mart, because it sells way more than just food), 3 or 4 cinemas (on of them being an IMAX), an ice skating rink (if I were to guess probably the only one in the city, it’s so hot), and a stadium-like area in the middle for various events.  Also, the mall is right next to the Manila Bay, so all you have to do is walk across the street to get to the sea.

Al Gore live?? Heck yes I want to see Al Gore live! I see these posters all over the mall. However, you'll notice the date is listed as April 30th. I guess they were too lazy to take the ads down once the event was over

All of these things sound great, but in my opinion the best part of the mall isn’t just in these attractions, it’s in the variety of stores.  You may think, “well that’s an absurd thing to say, giant shopping malls such as MOA are obviously going to have a huge selection of stores to choose from.” Not so. Take the Mall of America for example.  I’ve been there

Yes, my friend and I found a pet store call "Dogs and the City". Not hard to see the humor in that name

a couple time in my day, as I have relatives in Minnesota and a trip to the Mall of America is always expected when my family and I go for a visit (by me, at least).  One thing I have noticed is that many chain stores like American Eagle and Starbucks have 2 or 3 stores spread out through the mall.  I’ve been to the Mall of Asia several times now, and I have not seen a repeat of any store so far.  It’s so refreshing to see so many lesser known stores (most of which I have never heard of before, as they are based in the Philippines), and it’s so convenient that they are all in one place.

Still not convinced that MOA is a shopping paradise? Well on top of all the variety, the prices for many of the goods available are generally very reasonable.  I expected to have to pay much more to buy things at MOA as compared to buying them in smaller stores and stalls, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Of course, you can buy really high end items for a ton of cash if you so choose, but poor people such as myself can also get a good price on everyday goods.  In fact, I bought a pair of leather shoes at one of the department stores just yesterday.  I won’t say the price, but it was very fair in my opinion and such a deal wouldn’t be available back in the States.

Well, that’s about all I have to say about the Mall of Asia.  Like I said in my previous post, I will be leaving the country very soon, so this is going to be my last post in Manila.  Too bad I could only stay for a month, I really enjoy it here.

Anyways, I’ll see you guys in Singapore!

-Matt

4 Responses to MOA: Mall of Asia

  1. Yuh Dorothy says:

    Hi, Matt It’s sooo much fun to read your stories on the road. I always look forward to your next adventure. It’s like Indiana Jones! I can’t imagine there is a mall bigger than the Mall of America in Minnesota. That’s neat the mall is near by Manila Bay. Did you look out from the Manila Bay? Do people buy a lot of things in the mall or just enjoy the AC in the hot day?

    • Matt Hill says:

      Yes, I looked out over the bay quite a bit. The view of the sunset from the bay is quite spectacular. This is because there is so much pollution in the air, it gives the sunset a pinkish color. It’s funny something so beautiful is the result of pollution

  2. Wizeria says:

    MOA sounds like a really fun place! It sounds like it really has many different shopping opportunities! :] The hyper market sounds really interesting. Is MOA sort of like Taipei 101?

    • Matt Hill says:

      They are similar, but I think Taipei 101 has many more higher end stores, ones that wouldn’t cater towards the general population. MOA on the other hand has all kinds of shops, no matter what you are looking for!

Leave a Reply

