ALA and more!

I was able to go to the ALA conference that was held in Washington D.C with the Eva Perry Mock Printz Book Club this year. It was a blast! I got to meet a bunch of really famous, almost celebrity like authors, along with some not known or just coming out authors. Some of them included John Green, David Levithan, Libba Bray, and that one crazy guy Vordak. I had some crazy experiences personally. I scared Libba Bray ’cause I gave her a death stare when she tried to get in front of me to go to her signing booth, because I didn’t know who she was. Later on a day or two later we took an insane picture where she has one leg in the air, I’m holding onto her and she’s holding onto her Printz Award. I also had the fun experience of waiting in rollercoaster length lines to wait to meet authors or to get free books.

If you asked nicely for galleys you got some. If you talked to people about the cover or books in general they’d give you free books. It was amazing. On the last day of the conference they were handing out free books that we stood in line for maybe an hour to get. Also they started selling hard cover books 2 for 5 dollars, or paperback books  3 for 5 dollars.  I personally did not take advantage of that much. I only bought a total of four books. Three of them being by Julie Anne Peters who’s written a few books that I love including By The Time You Read This I’ll Be Dead.

Overall it was a very surreal experience getting to meet the authors again. Some of them like Libba Bray and Laurie Halse Anderson were so down to Earth that they felt like real people while some others seemed like they were up with the celebrities.

It was great to meet the authors that I have loved for a long time and had wanted to meet. It was great! Unfortunately there won’t be another ALA conference nearby for a long time. The one next is going to be in New Orlean, which is a bit too far.

It was nice to just be able to experience something that a lot of other teens would die to do

~Nicole

4 Responses to ALA and more!

  1. Marci says:

    Laurie Halse Anderson mentioned the Eva Perry Mock Prinz Club in her blog. She even had pictures!!!!!! Very cool.

  2. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    Thanks for letting us know about the mention on Laurie’s blog. The link to that is http://halseanderson.livejournal.com/298621.html if you want to see what she wrote

  3. Nicole says:

    The picture on the blog of the Eva Teen’s shirt is a picture of me.. I can tell by the UNC-Asheville lanyard. XD

  4. Ezra says:

    Curse you Nicole for stealing my thunder! I was going write about ALA.

Leave a Reply

