Fickle Weather and Tall People

Ok, who has been caught in the rain before?  I’m sure everyone has at one point or another; stranded outside without the aid of an umbrella or possibly a poncho (if you’re secure enough with your image to wear one of those ridiculous things in public).  This actually happened to me earlier today, when I was on my daily run to the gym.  I was just chugging along, minding my own business, and out of nowhere it began raining cats (but no dogs).  But the funny thing is, when I woke up in the morning, it was bright and sunny.  An hour or two later, it was pouring rain.

This was one of the first things I had to get used to when I came to Singapore.  Back in the Philippines,  I never encountered this problem.  Probably because it only rained like twice while I was there.  In Singa, it can go from sunny to rainy (and back) in the blink of an eye.  Honestly its gotten to the point where I don’t even bother taking my sunglasses out with me during the day, since on more than one occasion I ended up having to stash them in my bag because they were getting pelted with water before I made it home.  I’m not sure if it’s like this all year in Singapore, perhaps it is just a seasonal thing. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind the rain.  But I like to be at least marginally prepared for when it comes (i.e. not wearing my business suit).

One thing I’ve noticed about the people in this country is that they are generally taller then those in Manila. I mean seriously, look at this picture:

I'm 6'4'', and these guys are towering over me!! I've never felt so short in my life

Ok I’m only joking, those two are clearly on stilts.  But it really does seem like the people here are a bit taller, which I enjoy as I don’t stand out quite as much.  Also, the majority of people here in Singa are fluent in both English and Mandarin Chinese.  It is so refreshing being able to chat with taxi drivers and store owners in Chinese, as I haven’t been getting as much practice speaking as I wanted since coming to Asia.

Ok lastly, I just have an observation that I made since coming here that I wanted to share.  Singapore is a great place.  Really, everything about it from the city itself to the people you see is so nice.  But, it doesn’t have much to offer in the

WOAH that Ship is sitting on a building. Actually 3 buildings. When I first saw this I actually thought is was the coolest thing ever. A good example of how nice the city is

ways of tourism.  Of course there are a couple famous places (such as the Jurong Bird Park) to visit while you’re here, but largely it does not stack up to, say, Thailand.  For example, there are beaches here too, just like in Bangkok, but they are all man-made.  The nightlife isn’t nearly as lively, apparently there are only a precious few places for the young crowd to go on weekends to party.  I would think that would get stale very quickly, going to the same places every weekend.  Bottom line, Singapore would be a perfect place to settle down with a family or if you were a bit older, but for us young guns looking for a more adventurous lifestyle it can be a bit boring.

More to come soon!

-Matt

P.S. check out this article, this is pretty big news here in Singapore as well as all over the world.  I’ll go more into detail about it next post

http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE65O1S220100625

Leave a Reply

