Movie Review: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Jeff Kinney’s famous illustrated novel, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, has been turned into a movie.

Greg Heffley (Zachary Gordon) is making the move from elementary school to middle school, along with his friend, Rowley Jefferson (Robert Capron). He’s sure he’ll be fine in middle school, and he’ll become favorite of the class with ease. But a bunch of problems surface, and he finds that maybe middle school isn’t that easy to overcome. First of all, there’s Rowley. Rowley is a little…not there yet. And there’s his family, especially his brother Rodrick (Devon Bostick). Only his dad seems to understand him. And then…there’s the piece of cheese.

No matter what Greg tries to do (be part of the wrestling team, be in safety patrol, audition for the school play), someone else always messes it up for him. Somehow, class favorite seems to be getting further and further away.

It was an okay movie. A bit exaggerated (I don’t think middle school was exactly like that…). I haven’t read the book, so I can’t compare. The thing I remember most when I was watching this movie was how embarrassed I felt for Greg while he tried to be “popular”. I guess some parts were kind of funny, but it didn’t make me laugh really hard. I guess high school is a little too old for this movie.

Greg and Rowley cringe in disgust as Fregley (Grayson Russell) shows them his hidden mole.

I think they’re also making a sequel called Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2: Rodrick Rules. But I don’t think that I’ll be watching it in the near future.

Leave a Reply

