Restaurant Review: The Mellow Mushroom

http://www.mellowmushroom.com/index.php#/store/index/durham

The Mellow Mushroom!

So a couple of Fridays ago, 3 of my friends and I hung out in Durham, and we went to this awesome pizza place called “The Mellow Mushroom”!

I entered the place, thinking it would be just another ordinary pizza joint, but I was proven wrong. It’s a really cute and quirky place, all colorfully decorated inside, and there are these huge mushroom statues things outside.

And the food was AWESOME. Well, I was also supremely hungry that day, having just come from an intense dance practice. But I fell in love with their pizza called “The Caesar”.

It looks so weird but it tastes SO GOOD. Sorry to vegetarians – it has pesto chicken. The official description is “Olive oil and garlic base with pesto chicken, provolone, mozzarella, and feta cheeses, topped with a fresh Caesar salad and Roma tomatoes.” Try and see if you can get it without the chicken. It’s basically a Caesar salad thrown on top of a pizza. I love a fresh salad, and that combined with everyone’s classic favorite – pizza – made for the best meal ever.

We also tried “The Philosopher” – “Steak, portobello mushroom cap, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, provolone, feta, and mozzarella cheeses on an oil and garlic base.” But we ordered it without steak, since none of us eat beef. This pizza was pretty good as well, except I’m currently in a “no-olive” phase. You know how every girl has their “no-pink-anything” phase? Yeah, well I have my “no-olive” phase. Go figure.

And their bruschetta appetizer was also divine! Haha, either I’m making you drool with hunger right now or you think these pizzas sound kinda gross. My friends and I LOVE to (1) eat vegetables — we’re weird, I know — and (2) try new things. So this may not be for you, but if you want a unique twist on a familiar food, go to “The Mellow Mushroom” on your next Friday night out.

Leave a Reply

