Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

The first part of the end of the Harry Potter series obviously has a lot to live up to. There was a lot riding on this movie, so did it deliver? I personally think it totally did.

I’m going to do my best to not spoil anything during this, so you don’t have to worry about that. This movie definitely delivered. Unfortunately, there were some unnecessary parts and other minor parts were cut out. I was frankly kind of disappointed that some of the scenes I liked from the book were still cut despite the fact that there is now twice the screentime to cover the whole book. At first I thought it would be ok, but then I saw another scene get added in that was really kind of just…weird, so I was a bit disappointed at that. But in general, they managed to reproduce the book very well down to many details, and often the parts that the director took creative liberties on actually made the movie better, such as Hermione’s torture, Ron and Harry’s reconciliation, and I believe they changed Hermione’s discovery at Bagshot’s house a little. That part was really good, it built up the suspense (and my terror, I hate snakes…) really well.

Then again, sometimes it really didn’t work very well…like the killing the locket scene…that was kind of awkward, I’m not even gonna lie. The movie is also legitimately scary at times, so I wouldn’t recommend letting any little kids see it. It kind of lives up to the PG-13 rating. Then again, I’m just really scared of snakes so it might just be that, but I was hiding my face in my friend’s shoulder whenever Nagini appeared. I also cried at a couple of scenes, it was funny a lot of the time too…I guess what I’m trying to say is they balanced emotions very well. The movie was rather depressing overall though, and ended on a super depressing note. But I can’t tell when it ends because it’s a major spoiler T_T

The main thing I disliked was how some of the deaths of characters were simply played off. It really bothered me how the first two deaths in the movie were kind of given a moment of silence, and then everyone moved on. I suppose that with such a fast-paced movie, it wasn’t possible to work in more than just that, but we never really see anyone grieve, which bothered me. The movie was also kind of unclear about some things, so that I wouldn’t have understood many things if I hadn’t read the final book.

In general, I recommend this movie highly to any Harry Potter fan. I feel that it wouldn’t appeal to people who don’t actually have an interest in Harry Potter. I’m seriously excited for the last movie now, but really sad that it’s going to happen so long from now…ahhhh what a cliffhanger…

If you’re a Harry Potter fan, you have to see this. If you aren’t, I recommend you read the books. Seriously, do it, you know you want to. And seriously, I’m going to repeat myself. If you’re a Harry Potter fan, see this movie. I realize that some people were really upset that the movies haven’t matched up to the books, but this one follows incredibly closely and I feel it was the best of the bunch so far. Go watch ittttt~

One Response to Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

  1. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I agree that this was the best of the movies so far. I like the way they balanced the whimsical feel of most of the movies with the darkness of this ending. I also like the few scenes that were added.

Leave a Reply

