Culture shock: Asian Toilets

After 24 hours of plane rides, security gates, baggage claims, and customs, I’m finally in Asia! Hello, Wake County!

I haven’t been in Japan/Hong Kong/Taiwan since 2003, but I’ve flown to Asia several times. What surprises me the most is that I’m still not familiar with the plumbing over here.

It took me a few minutes to figure out how to flush the toilet in the airport. It was a button ON the toilet! They also have many selections of toilets. They have fancy-shmancy toilets with heated seats, plain old normal toilets, and THESE THINGS:

Every time I go to a bathroom with one of these, I’m just like, “No thanks. I’ll wait for the next ‘normal’ toilet.”

Hope this experience wasn’t too disturbing for you all. But you gotta admit, it’s pretty funny. Have you ever been to a different country or place where their habits were different than yours? I’d love to hear your stories!

Well, it’s only noon over where you guys are, but I’ve got to go to bed, even if I have jet-lag. Good night! (Or, good afternoon. Whatever!)

5 Responses to Culture shock: Asian Toilets

  1. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I heard these were called “squatty potties”

  2. lindsey @ eva perry library, apex says:

    I also found a good website that tells more about them and how to use them. Some people consider them more sanitary because your skin doesn’t come in contact with the seat http://www.squidoo.com/squatty-potty

  3. hils says:

    Everytime I go to China, I’m absolutely horrified by the toilets.

  4. elbear1 says:

    Whilst Japan may have changed and upgraded. Many places in Korea still have the squat toilets. What makes matters worse is that they do not wish to flush toilet paper away so they put their ‘used’ paper in a basket right next to the toilet. Luckily my trips and usage of public toilets are few in Korea. I wrote an article on it you can read more @ http://wp.me/pZ1U7-3V please feel free to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

