TV Show Review: Glee

There are two kind of people in the world: People who adore Glee and people who hate it. Actually, there’s a third type of person: the people who don’t know what the heck Glee is.

I happen to be one of the Glee lovers. For some reason, I can’t seem to find an in-between in my friends. Whenever Glee is brought up during lunch there’s always another avid fan who squeals and starts chattering with me about how “amazing the last episode was” and how much we “loved (insert cover here) by (insert character here)” and whatnot. Then there’s the friends that roll their eyes and go “I cannot believe you watch that crap.” and the friends that go “oh, I don’t watch Glee.” Like I said, there’s not much of an in-between. I have yet to meet someone who says they watch Glee but are neutral about it…I’m beginning to doubt their existence.

The plot of Glee goes somewhat like this: nice guy Mr. Schuster, a Spanish teacher at William McKinley High School, hears that the Glee club will be shut down. Since he was a member back when he was in high school, he becomes the new head teacher and works to make the club, New Directions, good enough to win regionals. Along the way there’s sabotage, incredible amounts of high school drama, and increased conflict between the Glee club (mostly composed of the misfits of the school) and the rest of the kids. As the students say, Glee club is at the bottom of the high school food chain.

The main complaint about the show is that it exaggerates high school life, which I feel is unfair. If there was no conflict between the Glee club and the rest of the school, what would the plot be? A big theme is becoming comfortable with yourself and who you are, and not letting the judgment of other people affect that. Yes, they may have to dramatize some aspects of real life (obviously in real life not all sports jocks and cheerleaders are jerks) but that’s why we have suspension of disbelief. It’s all just to keep the show interesting. Another complaint is that they butcher classic songs, which I find really unfair. The cast is composed of absolutely amazing singers, and no matter what I feel like their covers sound good, even if I don’t like the song. Then again, I’m not picky about my music at all (I listen to and enjoy all kpop, which is arguably the most mainstream music in Asia) but I find it rather overboard to say that Glee has ever ruined a song. One of the most complained about is their new rendition of Poker Face by Lady Gaga, which I really liked. Who can hate a song with Idina Menzel?

The show has great humor, amazing music (and singers!), and even if it’s cheesy, I find that I like the plot. To be perfectly honest, along with House, it’s the only show on TV I actually keep up with. I cannot wait for the show to come back on TV and if you’ve never seen it, I highly recommend you find the episodes somewhere and catch up. : )

Oh by the way, some of my favorite covers are Defying Gravity from Wicked, Last Christmas by Wham!, Marry You by Bruno Mars, and True Colors by..I don’t know who. Also my favorite character is Kurt. : D

3 Responses to TV Show Review: Glee

  1. Susan says:

    you’re quite right. i’ve actually never heard of a person who was in between. i’m one of those who are like, “what the heck is glee”

  2. Jade says:

    You are right, definitely. I am one of the glee – haters. I understand why some people would enjoy the show (reasons cited in your review), but to me it’s a mindless waste of time. The covers of already sub-par pop songs are generally worse than the originals. Plot lines and acting are completely unbelievable. I appreciate drama when it makes sense, not when thrown at me in every episode. So far I’ve watched 6 episodes… four had me bored, two laughing at the screen, and the last one I gave up and turned off the tv. This it not to say I hate people who enjoy glee! D:
    It’s just my two cents on the show.

    • Vanessa says:

      And obviously that’s perfectly fine. 🙂 Glee definitely has its ups and downs- the post-Superbowl episode left me disappointed, but the most recent one more than made up for it. It isn’t a kind show that’s going to appeal to everyone.
      I have my personal opinions on the covers…sometimes they leave a bit to be desired, but I find all of the characters to be great singers. I just don’t listen very hard to most of the songs that don’t appeal to me : )
      The drama is pretty silly though, but I don’t take it too seriously. It’s usually pretty funny. ^^ Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

