Eva Perry Library Reads: Amaranth Enchantment

*This blog post got Rachel tickets in the prize drawing for our Teen Summer Contest. Click here to find out how to enter!*

Amaranth Enchantment by Julie Berry

I really enjoyed this book, but it’s not anywhere close to being one of my favorites. I understood what the protagonist was thinking, and the plot was somewhat original. However, I did not find either significantly better then many other books that were hastily discarded. Nothing differentiated it from the hordes of mediocre sci fi/fantasy, where the protagonist finds an enchanted object and has to deal with someone magical trying to get it back. Moreover, I didn’t recognize any realistic character development. The plot did occasionally surprise, but I honestly didn’t care. The writing style was adequate but not distinctive, and I don’t expect to remember the story for years to come.

Leave a Reply

