How To Stay Cool This Summer

When I think of my summers as a little kid, I remember going over to my Omi and PopPops to spend the day.  I remember that my PopPop always had a drawer of snacks that my mother didn’t approve of for me to eat. But mostly I remember that I would go to the freezer and take out a big bowl of frozen grapes that I would eat with my Omi and her puppy Poco while reading Peter Pan on the side porch.

FROZEN GRAPES:

The best kind of grapes to use are the large purple or red table grape, or they may be called king grapes. All you have to do is wash them and put in the freezer (I feel it’s almost unnecessary to tell you this “recipe”).

The secret to the grapes is alcohol, and no you dont have to add any it c0mes naturally in the grapes. The trace amounts keep the grapes from freezing completely so they almost have the texture of a sorbet.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Living down the street from my two best friends when we were 5 helped a lot in the summer. We would constantly be arriving at the house with the ice pops, whoever’s that may have been at the time. But it seems like we would always end up on my front porch eating our pops in a hurry so they wouldn’t melt. My front porch was special. It had a big blue and white jug off to the side that we would put our popsicle sticks in when we were done. (When none of our parents were looking of course!)

ICE POPS/FROYO/ICE CREAM:

.

.

.

.

The best of Frozen Yogurt would have to be MyBerry, I have gone there many many many times with friends, sometimes days in a row. Although I’ve been there many times I have yet to see the Vegan FroYo they promised!

(I am not a strict Vegan but I choose the vegan choice whenever possible.)

Ice cream is delish but in my house you would see brands like Rice Dream and So Delicious, instead of Blue Bunny or Edy’s. Those are vegan brands, but I just don’t think that the Rice Dream is as good as ice cream.  So Delicious is true to its name though! They are a bit more expensive, but less then Skinny Dip or Marmalade Skys!

Out of Marmalade Sky’s and Skinny Dip I would suggest Skinny Dip, and its not just because there is a Pet Pad nearby that you can visit after!

WATER BALLOONS:

.

.

.

I love water balloons. My friends and I put a little twist on them. We use full sized balloons (the ones you would normally fill with air) as our water balloons! As fun as this is you can carry at max two at a time, and you seem to drop them more often, and if you use the balloon that are meant for twisting…

.

They have to be blown up with an air pump first, then filled with water, or else they are not stretched out enough to hold water and not pop.

.

Have a great summer… and stay cool!

2 Responses to How To Stay Cool This Summer

  1. lindsey says:

    I have to completely disagree with your top yogurt choices. Yogurt Mountain is #1, although the only Triangle location is in North Raleigh. And have you been to Freshberry? That is another yogurt place I enjoy. I have never tried frozen grapes before. That sounds interesting.

  2. hils says:

    The frozen grapes sound really interesting. I’ll have to try that sometime.

Leave a Reply

