Winter Months and Tasty Soup

When winter weather arrives, it is a perfect time to eat nice warm soup, even though I would not use “winter weather” to describe the temperature this year. Nevertheless, I set out on a mission to find a good soup recipe and according to my dad’s three servings, I think this one definitely at least deserves the title “good,” if not great. I searched on Google for hardly any time until I found this recipe decided to try this it out, although I would have to wait until the weekend when I had time to cook it for three hours. I originally got the recipe from The Food Network (http://tiny.cc/psbh6) but down below I included my adapted recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 3.5 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15.5 ounce) can drained great northern beans
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup (red) onion, chopped
  • 3 bay leaves
  • Salt and ground black pepper
  • 2 cups cooked spiral pasta
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped fresh or frozen spinach, defrosted
  • Basil sprigs and garnish, optional
  • Note: This recipe varied from the original recipe in the fallowing ways:

I increased the amount of the vegetable broth, diced tomatoes, and beans. I changed the type of beans from cannellini/navy to great northern, style of pasta from ditalini to spiral, and used a red onion instead of the traditional yellow.

I also took out the celery (for personal taste), thyme and sage (couldn’t find it), reduced the amount of spinach (didn’t have enough fresh.)

Directions:

In my Crock Pot (one of the top 10 kitchen tools I can absolutely not live without), I combined the broth, tomatoes, beans, carrots, onion , bay leaves, spinach, and a few sprinkles of  salt and black pepper. I covered and cooked high for 3 hours. (The directions called for 3-4 hours on high, and another option is to cook on low for 6-8 hours).

After the soup cooked for around 3 hours, I added my (still warm and al dente) pasta, stirred it a few times and covered for five more minutes. I then read the directions to “remove bay leaves,” but couldn’t find them at the time. I later found one as I was ladling out my soup but still have only found that one, so I would suggest that when you put them in, leave them on top and remove before adding the pasta.

The verdict is… you should try it! I will definitely be making this again sometime in the near future! It is extremely easy to make, it only takes a short amount of time, you can usually make it with the food already in your house, and it seems to be impossible to mess up, through all of the quick changes of adjusting to what I had in my house, it still came out tasting fantastic!

Leave a Reply

